La Vida Carlotense

I spent last weekend at my roommate’s family reunion in La Carlota, a pampas town of some 12,000 people in the south of Córdoba province, about six and a half hours by car from Buenos Aires. It was a welcome reminder that porteños alone do not a country make. Grassy fields stretching past the horizon, small-scale farms where carlotenses still raise crops and cattle, giant but close-knit families, even a gleaming new swimming pool — I couldn’t have asked for a better end to a January I won’t soon forget.

3 thoughts on “La Vida Carlotense

  1. Since I rarely ever leave northern Michigan, I’ll live vicariously through you! Wonderful photos. I do love our snowy winters, but a little sunshine and warmth right about now would be nice.

Leave a Reply

